Public sector banks (PSBs) across the country will soon have standard operating hours. This is part of the government’s reform agenda for PSBs under Enhanced Access and Service Excellence Programme (EASE) 2.0. Consolidation of PSBs is also part of this programme. A banker’s panel has recommended that every region adopt one of three six-hour time slots — 9am to 3pm, 10am to 4pm or 11am to 5pm. Banks have already agreed to keep branches operational for customers for uniform working hours in one location.
“The three time slots have been suggested, but banks can have other slots. The idea is that in one locality, one branch doesn’t open at 8am and another at 10am as customers get confused. Residential areas can have branches opening at 8am or even operate in the evening. But it needs to be uniform,”